2019-20 AHL Team Business Awards

Jun 22, 2020

As part of the month-long 2020 AHL Team Business Spring Series, the American Hockey League today announced the winners of several awards recognizing the business successes of team staffs in the past year.

The 2020 AHL Team Business Spring Series, running May 19 through June 19, is a program of online presentations and discussions being hosted by the league’s Team Business Services department. Team and league front-office personnel from throughout the American Hockey League meet each offseason to discuss best practices and innovative ideas in several areas, including ticket sales, corporate sales and marketing.

This year, the Colorado Eagles were selected for the most unique social media promotion for their use of Tagboard. The Tagboard platform allows Eagles fans to have an interactive experience during the game. Fans from around the arena could now interact with the Eagles on Twitter and Instagram using the hashtag #EaglesCountry to see their game experience on the videoboard. "We wanted to give fans an opportunity to actively interact with us on social media and our in-game production," said Eagles Digital Media Manager, Mcallaster Miller. "From selfies in the stands to capturing video of a player tossing a puck during warmups, Eagles fans are now able to share their experience with everyone in the Budweiser Events Center through their social media accounts."

The Tagboard platform was even able to elevate special Eagles event nights such as Eagles Fights Cancer and 80's Night. During Eagles Fight Cancer night, fans were encouraged to fill out 'I Fight For' cards and take pictures in the photo booth. Using Tagboard, the Eagles were able to display all of the unique cards on the videoboard and share those same messages throughout social media. On 80s Night, the Eagles were able to facilitate their entire costume contest through social media and Tagboard. This increased overall reach for the contest, allowing the Eagles to put together a larger prize pack for the winner. 

Other Team Business Awards announced today include:

  • The Springfield Thunderbirds won the ticket sales department of the year
  • The Cleveland Monsters won the corporate sales department of the year
  • The Syracuse Crunch won the social media department of the year
  • Ken McKenzie Award: Allie Brown of the Iowa Wild
  • The San Diego Gulls won most unique ticket sales promotion or theme night for their “80’s Night”
  • The Iowa Wild won most unique game operations promotion for their “Stranger Things Night”
  • The Manitoba Moose won most unique community relations initiative for their “Follow Your Dreams” game in conjunction with the Winnipeg Aboriginal Sport Achievement Centre
  • The Colorado Eagles won most unique social media promotion for their use of Tagboard
  • The Bakersfield Condors won most unique sponsorship package or entitlement for their Colonel’s Caravan program
  • The Laval Rocket won outstanding marketing campaign for their “Ici l’Avenir/Witness the Future” program

In operation since 1936, the AHL serves as the top development league for all 31 National Hockey League teams. Nearly 90 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates, and more than 100 honored members of the Hockey Hall of Fame spent time in the AHL in their careers.

Back to All